Toxic strawberries and the much coveted organic vegbox

So I get an email from a mum I used to know, she has started writing articles about our modern age and all the toxic stuff it contains (TV violence, skin care products etc). I couldn’t agree more with her. The latest article translates into “Yum, Yum. Delicious toxic stuff, could I please have some more?” accompanied by a pic of a strawberry. (It’s in Spanish, but if you want to see it, it’s here).

I know, I know, strawberries are on the dirty dozen list…evil, toxin laden devil’s food.

I’ve been aware of this for some time. In fact, a few years ago I decided, that’s it, I’m not going to buy strawberries that aren’t organic. That year we didn’t eat strawberries. I could never quite justify the price label on the organic ones for something that would be wolfed down in 2 mins flat and forgotten forever. (I live in Spain, organic food is SUPER expensive and not easy to come by yet).

Then it was apples…oh apples. Again, evil toxics poisoning my children….went for about a week without apples until I caved (again, the organic ones were 3 times the price).

I hear you saying “But health is worth the price tag”. I couldn’t agree more. I used to have an organic vegbox when I could afford it, it was totally worth the elevated price tag.

But now things are different, and I can’t.

I thought about it loads and I decided that for the moment it’s probably better that our family is eating enough ‘standard’ fruit and vegetables, rather than not enough fruit ‘n’ veg but organic.

These are the little (hard) decisions that we have to make peace with.

When you are interested in healthy food and nutrition, it’s easy to get het up by the (sad) facts of our day: that lots of food is contaminated and poor quality. It’s worrying when you have little children, well, I find it so.

But buying all organic is not for everyone’s budget, there are no two ways about it. People that say it is all the time haven’t had to choose between the extra money spent on organic vegbox OR this week’s chicken.

We do what we can, when we can. This week’s focus may be good milk, next week good fish, next year the organic vegbox. And that is ok!

 

Toxic strawberries and the much coveted organic vegbox

4 thoughts on “Toxic strawberries and the much coveted organic vegbox

  1. I totally agree. I try really hard to keep out diet fresh and healthy, full of whole foods and grains. I even use supposed natural sugar replacements in my cooking…and then the other day one of the websites I follow started going on about how most of that was crap for you too. And I was like WTF? To buy all the organic versions of everything is so expensive. Oh and now it’s also coconut oil instead of olive oil which is expensive enough as it is and I’m exhausted by it all.So like you, we do our best. We keep it fresh and whole and get the specialty items sometimes and I’m happy with that.

    Like

  2. Exactamondo…. I reckon it’s what most people do (unless they blog about real food and have to be accountable!). Sort of mix and match whatever you can manage. It fluctuates so, doesn’t it.

    Like

  3. You’re so right. Making difficult choices goes with territory. No bloody wonder it takes so long to do a supermarket shop. Check fat content, check price, check organic, check calories, check aspartame. Check price, grab and go works for me a lot.x

    Like

Leave a Reply

